St. Patrick’s Day Walleye

17 03 2012

Location: Trenton Channel
Date/Time: 3/17/12 (St. Patrick’s Day) 5:30 pm
Water Temp: 45 degrees
Water Clarity: Clear
Weather: 70 degrees and sunshine
Wind: Light SE wind
Water Depth: 10 feet
Presentation: Jigging
Lures: Brown Wyandotte Worm, 5/8 ounce jig

Notes: Not a lot of action today. Water was so clear I decided to jig at first. Caught the one fish and lost the jig shortly afterwards. Pulled wire until dark without a hit.  Ended up with one 19 inch 2 1/2 pound male.  Read a report about a 14 pounder being caught in the channel earlier this week.  Also heard about a fair number of fish being caught up near the Ren Cen.  While I was out I talked to my friend Sparky and he told me he only got one this morning.  Still a little early but I have never caught a walleye on St. Patrick’s day before.

I’ll give it another shot next weekend.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

