3/29/12 Fishing with Dad

29 03 2012

Location: Mid-River, Rouge River to Great Lakes Steel
Date/Time: 03/29/12, 7:00 am to 9:30 am
Water Temp: 47 Degrees
Water Clarity: Clear
Weather: Cold and Overcast
Wind: NE wind 10 to 15 mph
Water Depth: 40 feet
Presentation: Jigging
Lures: ¾ ounce jig Wyandotte worms, Brown and Chartreuse

Notes: Well Dad decided to come down for a few days of fishing. Of course once he got here the weather did a drastic turn around. A week ago I was fishing in a t-shirt and today we about froze out butts off. I have to keep reminding myself that any fish I catch now are a bonus. Normally I don’t even start catching any walleye until mid April. We still had to give it a shot, my Dad didn’t drive down from Oscoda to sleep in. Unfortunately the weather and the walleye didn’t really cooperate. We did pick up two males 20 and 22 inches long for a combined weight of 6 pounds. At least we have fish for dinner on Friday night.

We would try handlining tonight but I have a handlining seminar I have to give. So instead of fishing I am going to spend the evening teaching other people how to fish. Besides I think my Dad wants to show off the two Schaller Reels he cleaned up. They really did come out nice.

Oh well…..there’s always tomorrow, rain permitting.

Actions

Information

2 responses

29 03 2012
Mike

Take notes from Dad and do a blog on handlining.

29 03 2012
mfs686

More like Dad needs to take notes from me.

Leave a Reply

