3/31/12 Fishing Report

1 04 2012

Location: Trenton Channel
Date/Time: 3/31/12 7:00 pm to 10:00 pm
Water Temp: 44 degrees
Water Clarity: Stained
Weather: Overcast and Cold, No moon
Wind: SW and light
Water Depth: 12 feet
Presentation: Handlining 40/20/6
Lures: #11 GFR, #11 Chartreuse

Notes: Well since jigging wasn’t producing all that well I decided we should try handlining. Once we launched the boat I knew I made the right decision. With the dirty water I figured our odds would improve. On the way out I pulled up to a boat of a couple of friends of mine and they were bringing in their 6th fish of the evening. I quickly got my Dad set up and then myself. In the next 90 minutes I caught 5 and lost 2 with one fish being a 26 ½ inch 5 pound 8 ounce male. Unfortunately my Dad didn’t catch anything. I set him up with a 40 foot lead and a #11 GFR just like me but for some reason he couldn’t hook up.

Once it got dark the fish shut right down. That happens sometimes with dirty water, during the daylight the walleye are active but once it gets dark they just stop. Well at least we got 5 more for the freezer. 19 to 26.5 inches long for a combined weight of 16 pounds and 2 ounces. The 40 foot lead took 4 of the fish and 1 on the 20 foot lead.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

