April Fools Day Walleye

1 04 2012

Location: Trenton Channel
Date/Time: 4/1/12 7:30 am to 9:30 am
Water Temp: 42 degrees
Water Clarity: Dirty
Weather: Overcast
Wind: SW and light
Water Depth: 12 feet
Presentation: Handlining 40/20/6
Lures: #11 GFR, #11 Chartreuse, #9 Pink Lemonade

Notes: In the immortal words of The Standells…..Love That Dirty Water !! I ended up keeping 5 walleye and releasing 4. I also lost a beast just below the boat. Just as the fish was getting close to the boat the lure came free.

I lost two other fish bouncing them off the side of the boat as I was trying to flip them in. In each case I was getting bounced around by the waves so much I couldn’t flip them over the side. At one point I had two bass boats coming right at me as I was bringing a fish in. Thought for sure I was going to lose that one but he was hooked good.

Kind of a strange set up today, still did my usual 40/20/6 set up but this time I caught half of my fish on the kicker. Usually this doesn’t happen until the summer but I’m not going to complain. Might be that fancy custom lure I was using. Need to see about getting some more of those.

On my way back in I stopped to take a picture of a loon that was fishing just south of the free bridge. He must have been taking a break for breakfast before he continued north.

Ended up catching 9 fish, lost 3 and I also had a few head shakes that never really got hooked. The 5 I kept were from 20 to 21.5 inches for a combined weight of 13 pounds and 11 ounces.

Wonder if I could catch Bull Sharks handlining?

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

