4/11/12 After Work Walleye

12 04 2012

Location: Trenton Channel
Date/Time: 04/11/12 7:00 pm – 9:00 pm
Water Temp: 46 degrees
Water Clarity: Clear
Weather: Partly Cloudy at first then clear
Wind: N calm
Water Depth: 13 feet
Presentation: Handlining, 40/20/6, 30/15
Lures: #11 Bleeding Chartreuse, #11 Clown, #9 Hot Steel

Last night was a perfect example of how much of a difference water clarity can make on fishing success. Last week, when the water was dirty,  the majority of my fish were caught between sunrise and sunset. Last night, when the water was clear, all 6 were caught after sunset. At first I thought we might be ok with the overcast clouds but once we got on the water the clouds parted and the sun came out. Made for a nice evening but at the time I would have preferred the clouds.

I took one of my co-workers, Leo out tonight. Normally he is a bass fisherman (I don’t hold it against him) so he doesn’t get the opportunity to handline too much. He does have his own reels but I don’t think he likes the way they look on his Skeeter. At 8:05 Leo caught the first fish on his 30 foot lead and a #11 Clown. He ended up catching the next 2, one on the Clown and another on his 15 foot lead and a #9 Hot Steel Rapala. I ended up catching the next 3, all on my 40 foot lead and a #11 Bleeding Chartreuse Rapala. The last fish was caught just after 9 and that is when we packed it in. I had to get home because someone was dropping off a GPS unit for my boat.

Considering how this night started out we did pretty good. The snap broke on my shank and I lost my weight. By some miracle my kicker lure snagged the weight as it went by. I’ll never be that lucky again. Shortly afterwards Leo gut hung up and he almost lost the whole rig. We were able to get it free but there were some tense moments. While we were trying to free it my motor decided to stall. Luck was on our side and I was able to get the motor started and retrieve all the equipment. Leaders were tangled up but that was no big deal. I keep spares just in case.

So the final tally was 6 fish from 18 to 24 inches long with a total combined weight of 15 pounds and 1 ounce. I will be out again tonight, going to try deeper water at first to see if we can pick up a few before it gets dark. Don’t know about this weekend, MWC and MOMC both have tournaments. They had just finished setting up for the MWC tournament at Elizabeth Park when I arrived. Things might get a little crowded. Plus I have my niece’s baptism this weekend. It might not to look good if the Godfather doesn’t show up.

I suppose I could go out afterwards.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

