They’re Here !!!!!

22 04 2012

Location: Trenton Channel
Date/Time: 4/21/12 7:00 pm – 9:00 pm
Water Temp: 52.8 Degrees
Water Clarity: Slightly Stained
Weather: Clear Sky & Cold
Wind: NE 10+ mph
Water Depth: 13 feet
Presentation: Handlining 40/20/6
Lures: #11 Bleeding Chartreuse, GFR

THEY’RE HERE !!!!!

Like death and taxes they are a constant in the universe, the annual White Bass run. Normally it doesn’t start until May but with our early warm up it was bound to start early. My friends had told me earlier in the week that they had showed up but I was in denial. Well, not anymore.

I had debated going out all day today, between the NE winds and the thought of having to deal with swarms of fresh water piranha I almost stayed home. Glad I didn’t. Of course the first fish I caught was a white bass but the next one was a walleye. At first I thought it was a big one until it got closer. It turned out to be a 14 incher that I snagged in the side. He was released none the worse for wear and I was back at it. Things were slow at first with the occasional bass being caught but I finally had a walleye in the box just before 8:00 pm. As the sun set lower in the sky the fish turned on just like they have so many nights this year. The white bass were even kind enough to stop feeding so for the rest of the evening it was nothing but walleye.  I ended up landing 4 more and losing one to finish up my 5 fish limit by 9:00 pm.  I even caught a little 11 inch Smallmouth tonight.  I should have gone out again the next morning but I was tired. The white bass moving in is an indication that the spring run will soon be winding down. Another indication is that all 5 of the fish I caught were spawned out males. Soon the majority of the walleye in the river will be heading out into Lake Erie where fishermen will be breaking out the planer boards, spoons and crawler harnesses. I’ll still be in the river but my tactics will be changing as well.

The hot lures tonight were the same two I have been catching fish on all season, #11 Bleeding Chartreuse and GFR Rapala’s. Though this time of year just about everything catches fish. I have had my friends tell me the colors that were producing for them and they ranged from the original black and silver to the newer bleeding olive series. One friend even said he has started to get them on spoons in the morning hours. That’s understandable though, the white bass migration usually coincides with the Minnows starting their spawning run as well.

Going to try and get out a few more times this week before the invasion kicks into high gear.  For now though it is time to listen to Dee Snyder and The House of Hair while I clean some fish.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

