White Perch Side Note

17 06 2012

When I was out fishing on Lake Erie 6/16 we caught a few White Perch. I always considered them a nuisance fish like White Bass. I never thought about eating one but then again I am a bit of a fish snob. I have always had fresh caught and because of that I won’t buy any fish from a store or rarely order it in a restaurant. Today though Jerry and Mike convinced me I should try it. We had been catching a few nice size White Perch so I decided to keep a few and give them a try. There wasn’t much to a fillet, especially after i cut off the darker meat. I didn’t do anything fancy for cooking them up. Just rolled them in bread crumbs and into some hot oil and my cast iron skillet. Much to my surprise they weren’t bad. It wasn’t as good as yellow perch but then again not much is. I still don’t plan on keeping any though. Like I said before there isn’t a whole lot of meat on one once I cut away the dark meat. I’ll stick to yellow perch.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

