Weekend Report

22 07 2012

This is going to be short, sweet and to the point. This may be my last report for a while as well but more on that later.

 
As I stated earlier my Dad and I went out last Friday night (7/20) down to the channel. We got a late start since my parents arrived at my house around 6:00 pm. After a quick dinner we hooked up the boat and headed out. As has been the case all summer the water was still clear with a surface temp of around 80 degrees. It didn’t take long and I hooked into a Smallmouth, he came off at the boat which was fine with me. Shortly afterwards my Dad picked up a walleye which he followed up with another about 10 minutes later. His success was short lived because I caught the next 5. As it started to get dark we both noticed an increase in boat traffic. We soon realized they were going to have fireworks as part of the Trenton Roar on the River Festival. We didn’t want to get caught up in that so we decided to pull lines. We had to get up early anyways for Marty’s funeral. As we were headed in we saw our friend Richard so we pulled up to see how he was doing. He had 2 in the box so far and was going to stick it out for a while longer. I can’t blame him, it was a near perfect night out.

 
After the funeral my parents headed home and I decided to get some chores done. One of the chores was to try and get my outboard motor running right. Last night it kept wanting to stall whenever I would idle down. It also started to skip on one cylinder before it would stall. A few people had told me about the wonders of Sea Foam so I picked up a can to dump in the tank. I also bought a can of the Carb cleaner as well. I played around with that for about an hour and made plans to go out again that night. The first thing I did when I launched was make a long run down to Calf Island and back. I wanted to give the Sea Foam a chance to loosen up the carbon build up. It seemed to make a difference at first but after about 5 minutes the same symptoms started again. I took off again and ran it at top speed for about 30 minutes and tried again. Still no change. I tried to fish for bit but still no change, it just got worse. I was able to pick up 1 small walleye but I just let him go. I didn’t feel like cleaning one fish and I was pretty frustrated at the moment. So once I finish posting this I will finish cleaning out the boat so I can take it into a mechanic. I hope it’s nothing serious but the engine is over 35 years old and it has had thousands of hours put on it. We shall see.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

