I needed a break Walleye trip 10/12/12

13 10 2012

There is nothing quite like a few hours on the river fishing to cure what ails you.  This last week at work was very difficult.  I won’t go into details but let’s just say I was counting the minutes until 5:00 pm Friday night.  By 6:30 pm the boat was hooked up to the Jeep and I was on my way.

When I got to the ramp and started to get the boat ready (no one at the booth, free launch, BONUS!) I took a quick look on the river to assess the situation.  The American flag on the bridge was hanging straight down and the water was still crystal clear.  I didn’t see any minnows jumping in the marina but that really doesn’t mean they left.  They just quit jumping.  There were about a dozen or so trailers in the lot and one of them I recognized, Richard.  Hope he was catching a few.  As I headed downstream I could see about a dozen boats fishing.  A couple jigging or drifting bb’s, a few trolling long lines in “The Slot”, “The Edge”, “The Discharge”, “The Lane” or whatever else you want to call it.  More long liners will show up as the water temp continues to drop.  The surface temp was 54 degrees so it shouldn’t be too much longer.

Once I hit 17 feet of water in front of Calf Island I spun the boat around and set up.  I started off with a #11 GFR, a #9 Blue Holographic and a #7 Bleeding Olive Rapala.  I also shortened my kicker by a foot and my 20 foot lead by a couple of feet.  I thought I would give the shorter leads a try to see if I can pick up any fish that are up cruising around instead of hugging the bottom.  About 5 minutes later I had my first fish on my 40 foot lead and the #11 GFR (so much for my short leader theory).  It was a nice 3 ½ pound male, nice way to start the evening.  Once I got him in the cooler and the lines back down I gave Richard a call to see how he was doing.  He was further south of me down by Calf Island.  He hadn’t caught anything but his guest and fellow DWF member Leo had picked up 2 on a Flatfish tipped with a crawler.  We chatted for a few minutes, wished each other luck and got back to fishing.  I slowly worked my way upstream and about 30 minutes later I picked up another 3 pounder on my kicker and the #7 Bleeding Olive (theory back on).  As I was bringing him in I went into my downstream loop and was soon trolling through the same area where I just caught the 3 pounder.  A couple of minutes later I had another fish on, a nice eater on the #11 GFR (theory blown again).  I love it when that downstream loop maneuver works.  I was well on my way to a 5 fish limit when the walleye feed me a piece of humble pie.  For the next hour and a half I didn’t catch a single fish.  The only thing a caught was a rock.  I felt the snag and then that God awful snap……busted lip.  Sure enough, I pulled my lines and the lip on the #9 Blue Holographic had broken off.  I tossed the lure in the bucket and put a #9 purpledescent Rapala.  By this time Richard had worked his way up to me and was now working over the same water I was.  As 9 o’clock approached I started debating how much longer I was going to stay out.  It was calm out but it was cold and I really wasn’t dressed for it.  I was headed for the stacks and I figured I would make a pass through the opening of the discharge and then head for home.  Just as I reached the opening I had another hit.  Another nice eater on the middle lead (theory on again).  Once I tossed him in the cooler I pulled my lines and packed up for home.  I swung by Richards boat to see how he and Leo were doing and they had the same two fish they caught earlier.  I wished them good luck and headed in.

Side Note:  While I was out Tom called me.  I didn’t realize he was out fishing.  He checked in to see how I was doing and to tell me his results.  He started off jigging and then switched over to a type of pole-lining.  Pole lining was invented by the walleye tournament pros and a “legal” way to hand line.  Years ago handlining was illegal as a form of fishing in the big tournaments and the pro’s came up with a version of it using a fishing rod.  It’s kind of a cross between a bottom bouncing and handlining.  It was his first time at it and He caught a rock bass and lost his weight.  Once it got dark he headed in.

New tool, rubber coated glove. Should keep the hand from getting all tore up.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

