Happy Weedsday

25 10 2012

My apologies to Winnie the Pooh and all the other inhabitants of the 100 acre wood but it seemed appropriate. 

I was able to get out of work Wednesday (10/24/12) at a decent time so I took advantage of the wonderful weather and headed to the river.  By 6:45 pm I was on the river with lines in the water.  The water was clear with a surface temp of 56 degrees.  The winds were out of the south and very light with a clear sky above me.   Word must be getting out about the fishing because there were a few new boats on the water tonight. 

Not much happened at first but once I got near the “Cat” I had my first fish on for the night.  After I got him in the cooler I spun back around and went through the same spot.  I quickly hooked into another fish but he was barely hooked and I lost him right at the stern of the boat.  I made a few more passes through the area but no takers so I kept on moving north.  By now the sun had set and evening was slowly taking over.  I hooked into another fish but I also lost this one at the boat.  This was starting to get frustrating but it happens.  I can deal with a lost fish here and there but the onslaught of the weeds was more than I cared to deal with.  For the rest of the night I was constantly clearing weeds off my lines.  My lures spent more time out of the water than in it.  At one point I became so frustrated I let out a scream of obscenities that I’m sure was heard all the way down to Gibraltar.  I was still able to pick up a few fish here and there but after an hour of this I seriously debating heading in.  As I was mulling over what to do next I hooked and landed my biggest fish of the night, a 24 inch 4 pounder.    That made up my mind for me and I decided to stick it out a little while longer.  As I was dropping my lines down I got a hit and reversed gears and brought them up with the fish.  Number 4 was in the box and I was on my way to filling my limit.  About 10 minutes later I was clearing lines once again when I had another hit on my kicker while the lure from my 20 foot lead was in my hand.  I quickly released it and brought in my 5th for the night.  I had been thinking that some of the fish might be suspended and it looks like I was right.  Three of the fish I caught tonight were while I was setting lines down or checking them for weeds.  Also, I shortened my kicker to less than 5 feet and I trimmed about 3 feet off of my middle lead which was now only 17 feet long.  The only lead I didn’t change was my 40 footer and I didn’t catch anything on that one.  Next time out I may have to try a shorter leader on my 40 inch clevice or maybe hook it up near the wire snap swivel. 

Final tally for the night was 5 in the box, 3 lost, 1 throwback and everything came on my short leaders.  7 fish came on the kicker and the #7 Bleeding Olive and the other 2 on the 17 foot lead (20 inch clevice) and a #9 Bleeding Copper Flash Rapala.  Looks like I will be stocking up on these 2 lures over the winter. 

Once I pulled lines a little after 9 I ran up alongside of my friends Richard and Mark to see how they were doing.  They had 3 and were just about as fed up with the weeds as I was.  The 3 fish they had all came on their kicker leaders as well.  Found out later that 3 other people I know took home some fish as well.  Leo and Tom caught 10 and Larry ended up with 3. 

There are a lot of nice fish in the river right now. 

Weedsday Walleye

Actions

Information

2 responses

25 10 2012
Elk5012

I heard some the foul words, I thought it was MY echo from cussing and clearing lines LOL. I couldn’t take it no more, you have a strong will and it paid off with a limit. Good job to hang in there.

26 10 2012
mfs686

Yeah the frustration level of clearing lines for a solid 15 minutes got the best of me.

Leave a Reply

