Last Trip of the Year.

8 12 2012

All good things must come to an end.

This is going to be my last trip of the year.  The weatherman said it was supposed to get up to 45 degrees today so I thought I would give it one more try.  I figured the water to still be dirty so I headed out a little earlier than the week before.  Turns out I was wrong again, the water was actually clearer with about 3 feet of visibility and a surface temp of 41.8 degrees. It was overcast with a NW wind around 5 to 10 mph. I set up down by the blue boat house right at 3:00 pm with a #11 Bleeding Blue Shad, #9 Bleeding Copper Flash and a #7 Bleeding Original Shad.  No one else was on the river except for a bunch of gulls and a couple of deer on the shore.

The first 90 minutes provided nothing but a few floating weeds and some stiff cold fingers.  About 4:30 I had my first fish on.  He hit the #11 Rapala in the middle of the river between the stacks and the Catamaran.  He was very lethargic, no fight, just dead weight.  Around 5:00 pm I had another hit, it was very light and after a few seconds he was gone.  I stayed until about 6:00 pm before I pulled lines and headed for home.

My 2012 walleye season ended the same way it started.  1 walleye, caught on a very cold day and a brain freeze that wasn’t caused by a Slurpee.

Merry Christmas Walleye II

Actions

Information

5 responses

10 12 2012
Elk5012

Well Mark we can’t complain about a great year on the Detroit River. Had a good time fishing with all our handline buddies and chatting about the many catches. We’ll see on the water soon. Have a Merry Christmas.

10 12 2012
Dave Fitch

Merry Christmas as well Mark , it was an amazing year on the water for us. Hopefully there is one more trip , our last trip boated zero fish and was hoping to catch one at least in December. Wishing the spring comes soon and we’re out tearing em up like we did all year. Thanks again for all of your help in coaching us and answering the questions that we have had during the year.

10 12 2012
sherman1

Yeah guys it was a great year, my personal best as a matter of fact. It just goes to show you that sharing information and letting people know doesn’t hurt your chances of catching fish. I saw more people handlining the channel this year than any other and there were plenty of fish to go around. Granted the weather played a big factor in the numbers but it was still a great year.

13 12 2012
steve schoonover

great job with the blog this season, i am looking forward to what the winter season brings with your writting’s. thank you for all your coaching and advice on the river this year and I look forward to many more fishing adventures next season

16 12 2012
mfs686

Trying to figure that one out myself. Thought I might try catching a walleye through the ice but it’s not looking good. I do have a few other ideas though.

Leave a Reply

