Maiden Voyage for 2013

14 04 2013

In the immortal words of Colonel Hannibal Smith……….  “I love it when a plan comes together”.

After a couple of weeks of rain and high wind I saw a small window of opportunity.  Sunday morning was going to be cold but the winds were supposed to be light.  I knew the MWC was in town so I figured I would get out on the water before them and hope I could get my 5 before the tournament started.  It was an ambitious plan of attack, 5 fish before 7:00 am.  I stopped at the Trenton police station and picked up my pass for the Rotary park launch.

Phase 1 of the plan done.

A few boats were already launching so I got my boat ready and waited my turn.  By 6:15 I was on the water and heading south.

Phase 2 of the plan done.

By 6:30 am I was at my favorite starting point (Free handlining trip to the first one who can guess what it is).  Water was dirty with less than a foot of visibility and a surface temp of 40 degrees.  I was going big today; size 13 and 11 Rapala’s.  I was itching to find out how well my new Spring Valley Special II Rapala’s were going to work.  I didn’t have to wait long, at 6:40 am I felt that old familiar head shake and my first walleye for 2013 was in the boat and it came on the #13 SVS II.  That was quickly followed up by 2 more.  By now the weekend warriors were starting to show up.  As I was pulling in #4 a boat stopped right alongside of me to ask how I was doing.  I told them this was my 4th and I had been out for 15 minutes (I just love being a show off).  I trolled around them and was heading east when #5 hit, the smallest one of the day and on the #11 GFR.

Phase 3 of the plan done, time to head home.

That was 5 fish in less than 20 minutes and I was heading back to the dock by 7:05 am.  I lost one other fish as I was flipping him in.  He was barely hooked and he came off as I lifted him out of the water.  All the fish were hooked by just the trailing hook.  None of them hit hard but they were full of fight as I was bringing them in.  I couldn’t have timed it any better, the tournament boats were just starting to head out and I was past most of them as I was heading in.  One boat lost a white bag as he went flying by, I spun around to pick it up.  It was a bag full of swim noodles with shanks and leaders all wrapped around them.  Hope he didn’t need them because there was no way I was going to catch him.  I figured I would just drop it off at the tournament trailer when I was done.  When I got back to the Rotary Park ramp it was almost full and 3 other boats were getting ready to launch.  One group of fishermen asked how I did and I gave them all the specifics.  A few minutes later I was all loaded up and heading home rockin’ out to Dee Snider and The House of Hair.

I love it when a plan comes together……

TC 04-14-13

Actions

Information

9 responses

15 04 2013
Mike

Catamaran.

15 04 2013
mfs686

Yep, you win.

15 04 2013
Elk5012

NIce to see your plan went perfect. Catamaran… did he say Catamaran? When did you find that spot? lol

15 04 2013
mfs686

I hear you and Dave did pretty good as well.

If someone asks me tonight where I fish I am going to post the picture of that boat and say “Any place where I can still see this because before my trip is through I am going to end up right by it”.

16 04 2013
Dave Fitch

Burned out boat house for 300 yds of snagging and then the Catamaran to lay the beatdown on em. Am I right? or was that last years plan. HaHa

16 04 2013
mfs686

Last year and the year before that and the year before that and the year before that……

17 04 2013
metropioneer

nice work. we got 4 jigging sunday. the fish are definitely in.

18 04 2013
oger

C’mom…more reports…..work can wait.lol

18 04 2013
mfs686

If the weather ever stabilizes I will…lol

Gonna try and get out this weekend. Collecting bugs along the Huron again Saturday morning so maybe in the evening or Sunday Morning.

Leave a Reply

