Weekend Report

14 10 2013

Sorry I didn’t get this posted sooner but passing a kidney stone sucks.

Started off Friday evening down in the channel.  I was on the water by 7:01 and by 7:02 I had my first bass.  Oh Joy!!  Fortunately he was one of very few tonight.  Unfortunately the weeds were terrible, AGAIN!!  I should have known, south east winds all week were not going to help the situation.  The one big difference between this trip and the prior one was that I caught 2 walleye.  It took me 3 1/2 hours to do it but at least I got some.  Had a few head shakes and a couple of those were actually foul hooked fish.  On two different occasions my #9 Bleeding Copper Flash Rapala had scales on the hook.  The fish are down there, just need to figure out what they want to eat.  Friends Larry and Dave were out as well and they ended up with two also.

Saturday I was out collecting bugs for the HRWC (report to follow later).

Went out again Sunday morning for a different plan of attack.  I launched at LEMP and started by Celeron Island.  That proved futile so I moved up to the Horse Island Channel markers where I also caught nothing.  From there it was out to the front of Humbug marine where I again caught nothing.  Made a pass in front of Calf Island and caught (wait for it) nothing.  Went up to the Cat where I proceeded to catch more bass and another channel cat.  I would really like to know what has prompted them to move into the river the last few years.  The good thing was the the weeds weren’t much of an issue this morning.  Just no fish.  I talked to my friend Jerry later and he caught a 6 pounder on Saturday morning.  So it’s not just me, everyone I have talked to has had the same results.  The water temps need to drop about 5 to 10 degrees.  A little stain to the water might help some too.  Five feet of visibility is a bit much.

Spent Sunday night at Heritage hospital passing a 5mm kidney stone.  If you have never gone through this trust me you don’t want too.  This isn’t the first time I have had to deal with it and I hope to never have to again.

IMG_1595 IMG_1610

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

