11/10/13 TC Walleye

10 11 2013

This is going to be a right to the point report.  Vital stats, results, and that’s it.  With the weather report for the rest of the week this will probably be my last trip of the year.

The wind had been howling from the west the last few days but it was starting to die down.  I saw this as my only opportunity so I jumped on it.  Normally winds gusting to 25 mph is a good reason to stay home but this was going to be my only opportunity to fish and I needed to get some more walleye in the freezer.

I launched at Rotary Park shortly after 3:00 pm and by 3:30 I was lines down by the blue boat house.  The wind made boat control almost impossible so I moved farther upstream hoping the shoreline would help block the wind.  It helped some but keeping my boat under control was going to need constant attention.  I started with a #9 Clown and #11 Bleeding Blue Shad and a Smithwick Rattlin’ Rouge.  Something with rattles for the dirty water, the lure that has been working so well for everyone I know the last 2 weeks and another just for the heck of it.  Turns out all 3 caught fish with the Clown catching the largest fish.

The surface temp was 47 degrees and the visibility was between 1 and 2 feet.  Absolutely no weeds, just an occasional leaf floating on the surface.  Winds were out of the west and anywhere from 10 to 25 mph, but most of the time they were around 10 mph.

All in all it was a pretty good trip.  I was only out there for 90 minutes, I didn’t lose any lures and I ended up with another limit.  Boat control was difficult but not impossible.  When the wind is like this I purposely fish alone just to keep the extra lines from tangling up.  I learned that one the hard way.

One final note.  This is for all those hypocrits that preach how they let all the females go and only keep the small eaters.  The 18 incher at the bottom of the picture?  Yep female.  Just goes to show you that any size fish can be a female and you preachers can’t convince me for one second that you have never kept a female walleye.

I’ll get off my soapbox now.

11-10-13 TC

Actions

Information

4 responses

11 11 2013
Dave Fitch

Nice Job Mark , fish were on the take yesterday all around. I would like to get one more trip but i’m with you on the weather.

11 11 2013
mfs686

Yeah this cold rain and the 20 degree temps tonight will probably push the temps down to the 40 degree mark. With the water being this dirty night fishing is out. Who knows, maybe Sunday afternoon.

12 11 2013
Larry E.

Nice job, the fishing window is getting shorter and shorter for the channel. Way too windy for my boat and doesn’t look like anytime soon either. If the weather gives us a break I’ll be out there, need to put some walleye in there to make it until the spring run.

12 11 2013
mfs686

Yeah it is. Hoping for a warm up so I can get a few more for the freezer. March is a long way away.

Leave a Reply

