Sad Day

30 11 2013

It happens every year, the one day we fishermen all regret.  The final trip until Spring.

Today was that day.  Originally I was planning on going Sunday but with a chance of snow in the morning and a change in the forecast for today I changed plans.  I planned for an afternoon trip so once it hit half time for The Game I was on my way.  I launched at Lake Erie Metro Park (all docks were in except for 1) and by 3:00 pm I was on the water with lines down.  Surface temps were 34.2 degrees with a nice stain to the water.  No weeds but that South wind made the water a little bumpy.  I ran #13 and #11 Rapala’s in Pink/Pearl and Blue/White.

I fished for 2 hours without a single hit.  There were two other boats out there long lining and I didn’t see them catch anything either.  Around 5 I headed in and a few more boats showed up to give it a try.  More power to them, the sun was setting and the temps were dropping.  A few interesting things I noticed.  There were a lot of Blue Herons lining the west shore.  I could see a few minnows jumping at the discharge along with the gizzard shad.  Also, the water temps in the discharge lane was just over 40 degrees, a 6 degree difference.  Still no fish though.

Wile I was at the dock I decided to winterize my engine.  If anyone out there is considering a new 25 hp engine I cannot even begin to sing the praises of my E-Tech.  While I was putting stuff away I put the engine through it’s motions and 2 minutes later my engine was winterized.  All set for next Spring.

Or the next warm spell.

Actions

Information

One response

1 12 2013
richardmax22

I too have called it a year. As every year at this time, my boat is now full of empty Christmas boxes. I am not a winter person. Bring back spring!

Leave a Reply

