A year in a life – February

14 02 2014

This is getting old.  The last estimate I read was that 87% of the great lakes is covered in ice.  The last picture I saw of Lake Erie looks like the entire lake is frozen.  Normally I spend February getting ready but this year there’s no rush.  Besides, there is a 2 foot snow drift in front of my garage door that I would have to remove before I can get to anything.  Kind of hard to get excited about any walleye fishing with all the snow on the ground.  I figure it won’t start getting good until after Easter.  I’m sure a few people will be out dodging ice bergs with the hope of catching that wall hanger.  I’ve pretty much given up on that dream so I’ll wait until the males move in so that I can fill the freezer. Speaking of which the supplies are running a little low.  Hope I have enough to get through Lent.

In the mean time I’ll keep on tying flies and completing little odd jobs to make a few extra bucks.  When it does start up I will be in full attack mode and gas and launch fees add up really quick. I did manage to secure the date for my tournament, May 9th and 10th.  Now all I have to do is nail down the weigh-in site.  I am trying to work out something with Sharkey’s Tavern on Grosse Isle.  Thought it would be a nice change to have it at a restaurant that might possibly serve walleye chowder and have something to drink afterwards if we want to stick around and BS.   

For all you guys that are married now would be a good time to get as many honey-dos out of the way as possible.  It’s not like we are doing anything else.

Actions

Information

3 responses

15 02 2014
richardmax22

Taking your last statement first, I could not fulfill enough honey-do’s to satisfy my wife’s quota. When it comes to thinking up chores, she is a walking Encyclopedia of ideas. She never runs out of ideas. In my part of the states we don’t have ice but it will be another month or more before the bass perk up. For now, like you with your flies, I am pouring plastics for me and a couple friends who I barter with. One pours me weights, the other air brushes my crankbaits. But there is no getting around it, fishing withdrawal is hell.

18 02 2014
Dave Fitch

My wife made a comment about me being a mess the other day. She caught me staring at the drift in front of the boat shaking my head. I usually have the bearings in the trailer greased or replaced by now, but what’s the rush

18 02 2014
mfs686

I’m doing the same thing, staring at the snow and shaking my head.

Leave a Reply

