A year in a life – March

5 03 2014

This is it, the month I have been waiting for.  All my preparations are finally going to come into play.  The all out assault can begin.  Oh wait, that was last year.

Fast forward to 2014 and the never ending winter.  This one has been so bad that I can’t even tell my kids that I used to have winters like this all the time when I was their age.  Not anymore.  The last time we received this much snow was during the winter of 1880/81.  That’s right, over 130 years ago.  To top it all off the Great Lakes are nearing 100% ice cover.  This has never happened in my lifetime and probably never will again.  The latest 10 day forecast shows a couple of days just above freezing but the nights will still be in the teens and 20’s.  All this means is that I won’t even get the boat in the water until the end of April.  I’m beginning to wonder if the lakes in northern michigan will be ice free by the trout/walleye/pike/muskie opener on April 26th.

Once things do break up I will be in full attack mode.  That means fishing new areas and using techniques I don’t normally use.  Normally handlining doesn’t start to heat up until the surface temps get above 40 degrees.  That could be the beginning of May at this rate.  In the mean time I may have to do some jigging to put some fresh fish in the freezer.  Early on it is more snagging than actually jigging but the alternative is doing nothing.

Once temps creep into the right zone than it will be a steady dose of Rapala’s in various sizes and colors until those other things show up.  Then it will be Pencil Plugs at night and weekend trips to the St. Clair river.  I might even throw in a early trip to Sanilac, Lexington or Oscoda to see if I can catch any Atlantic Salmon.  If not it will be a full court press on the walleye.  This summer will be that same thing.  Come July my weekend excursions will be lots of trips to Amherstburg to pull wire when the weeds and wind cooperate.  If not then it will be Bottom Bouncers or jigging in the same area.  The fish are there all summer it’s just a matter of getting the right presentation to make them hit.  Normally all I will do is pull wire but when the weeds are bad it will be Bottom Bouncers or jigs.  It’s a lot easier to deal with the floating weeds moving with them instead of against them.

Hopefully I will be able to use some of my owed favors for a trip or two on Lake Erie.  I usually make one trip a year but the last few have proven to be very daunting.  Engine problems, rough water, horrendous weed conditions and a lack of fish have made the trips more trouble than they are worth.  I know some people say it’s just good to be on the water but I won’t say that.  Getting bounced around a boat while constantly clearing lines for weeds while catching dinky white perch is not my idea of a good time.  I’ll stay home and go to Plan B.

I’m starting to feel like those people on Alaska The Last Frontier.  Got to fill the freezer before winter sets in.  Winter isn’t even over and already I am planning on how to fill the freezer.  I never realized just how much I miss having fresh fish.  I pulled some walleye out the other night and part of it was freezer burned.  I still ate it but it wasn’t quite as good as what I am used too.  I may have to start keeping a few steelhead, salmon and bluegills to help stretch out the fish diet.

Oh well, it will start soon enough.  As for now I will still plot, plan, scheme, dream, swear, complain, beg, pray and anything else I can think of until I finally hit the water.

Actions

Information

4 responses

5 03 2014
richardmax22

I thought my waiting was hell. Up here in Washington State it’s just good ole rain, with maybe another month before the bite picks up. But we certainly don’t have any ice or snow. Hang in there, buddy!

5 03 2014
Larry E.

I agree Mark this winter is getting old. I ran out of fish late Feb, the walleye was gone in Jan. Its sad when I’m looking in the frozen food section at some Gortons fillets to eat. I blame this mini ice age on the couple hundred electric cars sold and windmill power fields in mid Michigan. We need some green house gases soon or we’ll still be ice fishing in May. Can’t say I’ll catch you out there anytime soon, looks like another month and a half if we’re lucky. I’m with you, when I get a chance this spring I’m throwing everything I know at them to fill the freezer.

7 03 2014
Dave Fitch

Mark, if I can get a good pic of you jigging, I will forward it to DWF for the homepage background. No seriously , cabin fever is on big time. Hopefully the MFCC expo is good this weekend. This thinking about fishing stuff has gotten real old. I still have a couple packages of fish in the freezer , so I’m not looking at the Gortons stuff yet.

7 03 2014
mfs686

Just did inventory, 3 packages left and 7 Fridays in Lent. Not gonna be enough. I’m thinking of heading up to Oscoda the end of this month and try for some Steel up by Foote Dam.

Leave a Reply

