It’s a Mini Hopper Swarm.

29 03 2014

Fly tyer’s are a creative bunch.  Some of the flies they create are works of art and absolutely beautiful.  I am not creative, I’m an accountant.  If I get creative the FBI and the SEC will come knocking on my door.  I prefer to follow set patterns by the artist’s and modify them based on the materials I have.

Today I was tying up some of my first foam flies.  I have never tried any foam patterns before and there are a bunch of them out there.  Everything from Spiders to Damsel Flies to Cicadas.  I was looking for a few patterns that met my 3 requirements, cheap, easy and cool looking.  While I was googling Foam Fly Patterns (You Tube is a wonderful thing) I came across a pattern by Ben Smith at www.azwanderings.com.  He originally saw this pattern on a different website and modified it a little.  Ben has great success with this pattern in Arizona for trout.  I plan on using it for bluegills but I may give it a try when the terrestrials start to show up.  Ben’s tutorial on his website says to use a strip of 2 mm foam.  I already had a foam body cutter for beavertail bodies that produced a body that had an abdomen, body and head.  Instead of using a strip I would tie the head of the beavertail body down and pull it over, tie it down behind the body and let the abdomen act as the wing.  I think it worked out pretty well.  Just need some different color foam to get some more variety.

 

Just a little thread and glue and a mini hopper is born.

Just a little thread and glue and a mini hopper is born.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

A Mini Swarm

A Mini Swarm

Actions

Information

6 responses

30 03 2014
richardmax22

If those don’t catch pan fish, nothing will.

30 03 2014
mfs686

Thanks, they came out a lot better than I thought they would. Of course I didn’t take a picture of the first few…..lol

31 03 2014
Dave Fitch

oh yeah, bet tying flies is killing you waiting for the ice to go away, again nice work.

31 03 2014
mfs686

Thanks, I’m going to tie some bigger hoppers later. We may have to see how the Huron Smallies feel about them.

20 04 2016
Chris Anema

Those look awesome! They would do great on the hungry Browns in my home river!

20 04 2016
mfs686

Thanks, haven’t had a chance to try them on trout yet. Hopefully this summer during the day. Mice at night.

Leave a Reply

