7/11 Free Slurpee Walleye Day.

13 07 2014

So what do free Slurpee’s and walleye fishing have in common?  Absolutely nothing, I just thought I would throw that out there.

Hit the water again Friday night (7/11).  Originally my Dad was supposed to tag along but he was to tired so he opted out.  It was supposed to be an extremely beautiful night out so I went anyway.  Partly cloudy skies, full moon, slight breeze.  Almost picture perfect except for two things.  Ridiculously clear water and lots of floating weeds.  I forgot the Gold Cup races were going on so that meant a lot of boat traffic.  With the wind out of the south there was nothing to push the weeds mats to Canada.  They just kept floating down stream, all night long, wherever I went.  It was like they were following me everywhere.

I started fishing around 8:00 pm farther downstream down by Calf Island.  I wanted to try the deeper water first until the sun started to set.  Good theory but it really didn’t pan out.  I didn’t catch my first fish until 9:30 pm on a Limeade spoon on my kicker lead.  I ended up catching 2 and losing 1 on that lead and lure.  The one I lost made a Banzai charge right at my prop as I was bringing him in.  It worked, out came the hook and he lives for another day.  Shortly after the suicide charge I swapped out my two long leads for a couple of Pencil Plugs.  One Blue/Chrome plug and a Green/Yellow with black dots plug.  This one was painted up for me special by Jim at downrivertackle.com.  My dad and a friend of his had a lot of success on this pattern years ago and I have not been able to find it anywhere.  They bought all of them from The Tackle Box on the corner of Eureka and Telegraph.  That store has been gone for a long time but I managed to find one plug in my Dad’s tackle box.  I sent it to Jim along with a dozen other plugs and he painted them up perfectly.  I only caught one but it was picture perfect.  I was watching my graph when the depth dropped from 13 to 16 feet and then back up again to 13.  I saw some marks that could be fish and it seemed like the perfect ambush spot.  I trolled along hoping that as the lure from the top lead passed over a walleye would swim up and grab it.  One did and he hit it hard.  A minute later he was in the cooler and I was looping back around to see if I could repeat it.  No such luck.  I made a couple of passes but nothing happened.  I stayed in the area for about another hour but it was hopeless.  In spite of it being such a nice night I gave up.  The weeds were getting to be too much.  Even though the full moon was providing enough light for me to see the mats the lures were still getting fouled.  There will be another day.

So I went 3 for 4 tonight.  Not to bad considering the conditions.  It is supposed to cool down this week and the winds will be coming out of the west thanks to another polar vortex.  That should keep the boats and weeds to a minimum.  Unfortunately as I was leaving I saw the FLW trailer in the lot.  That means the channel will be over flowing with Smallmouth Bass next week.  Oh Joy.

7-13 Walleye Green lures

 

Actions

Information

2 responses

14 07 2014
Dave Fitch

yeah wish I would have known FLW was in town. Decided to not head north to get the boys til saturday afternoon and to sneak out early in the morning. Well, I was on the road early, Elizabeth park would not let me launch, so I headed to the police station. Thought I had exact change, wrong, so off to the gas station to break a $20. Launched at 615. Picked up a smallie, mid 30’s musky and 2 undersized fish near the catamaran. Feeling irritated, I headed back to Harrison st, and decided to make a pass on the east side of the submerged island up from the ramp and picked up 2@17″ on two passes. Redeemed myself and got a dinner out of it. Headed north and fished the Manistee Sunday morning with David and caught my first nice brown on my newly built fly rod, 14″er, on a gold bead #14 hares ear nymph. He has still not hooked a trout on the fly but is getting the hang of it.

14 07 2014
mfs686

Busy weekend for you. I’m thinking of a weekend trip up to Penrod’s with the girlfriend. We can go kayaking during the day and then maybe a quick pre sun set trip for me. Might even stay past dark and cast a few mice around to see what happens.

Leave a Reply

