Walleye Report 08/15/14

17 08 2014

After the record rain fall we received on Monday (8/11) I figured the river would have a little stain to it.  I told this to my friend Chris so we made plans to go out on his boat right after work.  I figured we could get our fish early because if the water was dirty we probably wouldn’t catch much after dark.  Sound theory but it didn’t work out the way I expected.  We hit the water around 6;30 pm and the water was still clear, 3 feet of visibility at least.  Oh well.  We started south of the blue boat house and worked our may north.  Weeds were pretty much non existent and the surface temp was still around 70 degrees.  I started off with a couple of spoons (Riley, Lucky GSC) and a #9 BCF Rapala.  Around 8 I caught a 22 inch male on the Lucky GSC Spoon.  That was our only walleye for the first 2 hours.  We did manage to catch a bunch of smallmouths, most of them dinks but I did pull in my first 20 incher for the year.  An old bruiser with lots of battle scars.  When I brought him into the boat he also spit up two gobies and a crayfish, the little pig.  Once it got dark I switched over to all Rapala’s.  Chris did the same but it didn’t matter.  He didn’t catch any walleye while I landed 3 more eaters.  Around 10:00 pm we both got hung up on the same snag and all our lines got tangled.  Chris had cut his thumb open as well so we called it quits.

We ended up with 4 walleye, One on a spoon, another on a #9 Blue/Silver Rapala and the other two on a #9 Bleeding Copper Flash Rapala.  Fellow Handliners Dave and Larry were out and they got 6 with an additional throwback.  Larry managed to land a 28 incher, on what I have no idea.  I just know the size.  Looks like fishing is picking up again and unfortunately my boat is still down.  Chris and I will probably give it another shot next weekend.  He has to make a few adjustments on his set up.  By the end of the night he figured out he was using 30/15 foot leads on a 40/2o inch shanks.  Lure were to far off the bottom for walleye but just right for little smallmouth.  No pictures tonight, I let Chris keep the fish.  Maybe next time.

Actions

Information

2 responses

17 08 2014
Larry E.

Nice report Mark. Took us a few to figure out what boat you were in as we were expecting to see you on the passenger side of a boat. Hopefully your friend gets the setup right for your next trip, its alittle more enjoyable when both are throwing a few fish a piece over the rail. I thought it was nice that the weeds were not an issue, finally got to relax and fish. I caught that fish on a purpledescent rap. Told Dave this fish needs a net (actually any walleye at that time was getting netted after a few slow trips for me) when he turned on his transom lights and I got a view, told him he has to net it so I could concentrate on keeping the fish out of the prop. We’ll catch ya out there soon.

18 08 2014
mfs686

Yeah Chris is left handed so it works out perfectly for me. Don’t have to swtich sides.

Leave a Reply

