Lost, 1 shank and 3 lures, 10/24/14. Please return if caught.

27 10 2014

Not to long ago I wrote about having one of those nights that we all dream about.  Conditions were perfect and everything went according to plan.  Well Friday Oct. 24th was not one of those nights.  Conditions were ideal but no fish and I lost an entire rig along with about 150 feet of wire.  My friend Richard and I made plans to fish out of his boat that night since mine is still in need of repair.  We started around 6:30 pm and for the next 3 hours the only thing we caught was a 12 inch Smallmouth bass that I managed to snag in the top of his head.  Around 9:30 I got hung up.  Once Richard got his line sin we started to motor up to the snag but the wire slipped from my hand, got wrapped up in the reel and it snapped.    150 feet of wire, a 1 1/4 pound weight, shank, leaders and 3 Rapala’s lost with one of them being my last #9 Bleeding Olive Flash pattern.  I felt like Charlie Brown as Lucy pulls the football away for the upteenth time.

What are you going to do?

The water is still clear and there were hardly any floating weeds.  Surface temps were around 53 degrees.  It shouldn’t be much longer and the bigger fish should be moving in.  We fished from the Blue Boat house up to the Edison Discharge.  Good luck to anyone that can make it out.  I have a feeling we are going to get a cold snap and the fall fishing will be over before it ever gets started.

 

 

 

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

