Sculpin Time.

9 06 2015

I started tying up Sculpins the other day.  Why may you ask?  Very simple…..

Sculpins

Actually, in this case they are for Smallmouth Bass but I’m sure a Steelie wouldn’t turn his nose up on one of these.  This particular pattern was an alteration of a pattern by the people at Fly Fish Food.  As usual I didn’t have all the materials they used so I improvised.  Tying them on an inverted hook proved to be a little painful.  Those Daichi hooks are sharp.  If you look closely at the fly in the lower left hand corner you will notice a dark red spot on the head.  Yeah that’s my blood. I’m going to start putting eraser tips on the hook point while I tie these.  I’m going to give them a try this weekend up at Sanford Lake.  I have a graduation party to go to at 4:00 pm so that will leave me plenty of time to fish.

Actions

Information

2 responses

11 06 2015
River Rat

Nice flies Mark. I have turkey feathers and squirrel tails if you need them. I also have some large celled foam you may be interested in.

Mike

11 06 2015
mfs686

Thanks. I appreciate the offer but I have squirrel tail and turkey feathers coming out of my ears. I’m covered on foam as well. My daughter worked at Joann’s for a bit and while she was there I had her buy me up a bunch of foam with her discount.

Leave a Reply

