Fishing in the shadow of the Sam Laud. 7/17/15

18 07 2015

What a week.  I really needed some fishing therapy and even though it was going to be a muggy night I was going out.  Water levels are still up and the docks were still partially underwater.  No matter, I was heading out.  I was originally going to head down to calf island but the Sam Laud was docked at the Edison plant off loading coal.  I thought clear water, ship blocking the sun and casting a shadow over 26 feet of water, seemed like a good place to start.  I switched out my 1 1/4 pound weight for a 1 1/2 pound weight and set up along side of the stern.  It wasn’t long and I had my first fish of the night, a 17 inch eater.  I stayed close to the ship all the way to the bow where I hooked into and lost another walleye.  Once I got all my lines in, I pointed my boat downstream and started back at the stern.  I made a couple of runs, picking up another keeper and one dink.  It was getting dark when I saw that the boom was being pulled in and it looked like the ship was going to be underway soon.  Time to move so I headed downstream and set up by the blue boat house.  After a couple of minutes I picked up a 20 inch male.  I made a few more passes but to no avail.  About 30 minutes later the Sam Laud was finally under way and past the free bridge.  I figured I might as well go back to where I first started since I wasn’t finding much downstream.  I picked up a forth fish and also a ton of weeds.  All 3 lines and my boat were trapped in a big floating mat.  After I got everything cleared away, I just gave up.  The weeds had been a problem all night so I just packed it in.  4 fish was enough for tonight.

Water is still very clear, the level is high (actually it is back to the normal most of us never knew of) and the weed mats were everywhere.  Lot’s of boat traffic for the Roar on the River boat races in Trenton.  Surface temp was 70 degrees, SW breeze and partly cloudy skies with no moon.  Gnats are still around as well.

Sam Laud 4

Actions

Information

2 responses

19 07 2015
Larry E.

Good job Mark, I haven’t tired fishing near the ships before looks like an idea I may have to try. No fun at all hooking into them weed mats though. I might give it a go Weds night, decent west winds should keep weeds away from the channel.

20 07 2015
mfs686

That’s what I’m hoping for. A few days of west winds and we will be in business again. I went down to Lizzy Park last night and the water looked pretty good. I will try to get out again this week as well.

Leave a Reply

