The rest of the story.

3 08 2015

As I said earlier I went Atlantic Salmon fishing.  I had been wanting to do this for quite some time but I never really had the opportunity.  I know fishermen caught them from boats that would tie up to the Edison Plant and fish the discharge.  Somewhere along the way I had a purist streak come over me and I felt the need to catch one on a fly.  After a little poking around I came across Rod Trudel of On The Fly Fishing Company in Canada.  A few emails later and I had a morning trip booked to swing flies for Atlantic Salmon.

I met Rod bright and early at 5:00 am (the sadist).  He told me that with the current heat wave the fish were retreating to deeper water early so he wanted to get an early start.  He also wanted to get to his favorite hole before anyone else did.  After we crossed the canal we made our way into the water.  Now you might think anyone can just park their car and walk to the spot to start fishing but I wouldn’t recommend it.  The current here is fierce and if you don’t know the area you run the risk of going swimming.  As a matter of fact I watched to other anglers do just that.  Fortunately for them they weren’t near any of the holes that are rather deep.  This stretch of river is very deceiving and one side of a rock may be ok but the other side may be over 20 feet deep.  In other words don’t be cheap.  Pay the money for a guide if you ever think about doing this.  Saving a few bucks is not worth risking your life.

Back to the fishing.

We originally set up between two boulders that created a seam on each side of me that I could swing a fly into.  It was still dark out but we could see salmon swirling on the surface chasing caddis flies (the bane of my existence today) and the occasional mayfly.  I worked this area and several others, casting small tube flies and muddler patterns.  Nothing worked though but for 7 hours I tried.  Rod was determined to get me into a fish but by noon we just gave up.  I wasn’t alone though.  There were about 6 other fishermen in the area and they didn’t catch anything either.  Rod had a couple of theories, one being the cold front that moved through and dropped the temperature about 25 degrees.  The other being the millions of caddis flies that were in the area.  He said the fish were gorging themselves on them.  They were so thick that I am still finding them in my car and waders.  Oh well, it happens.  The good thing about all this is that Rod told me he would take me out again free of charge for another crack at them.  All I had to do was arrange a date.  Not many guides will do that now a days.

Glad to see that some still do.

Actions

Information

4 responses

3 08 2015
Larry E.

Nice to hear that Rod want to put his clients on fish rather than putting money first, hats off to The Fly Fishing Co. guide service. Too bad you didn’t get to hook up with any fish but sometimes the best is yet to come. You’ve put a lot of time in to figuring out this fly fishing and the payoff is just around the corner. Oct. is coming fast, get ready for some local steel.

4 08 2015
mfs686

I am, tying more flies whenever I can. Drifted the AuSable last week to scout out potential holes and runs. I may be hitting those in September.

8 08 2015
Claytus Mcallister

I met you one night in April hand lining at Elizabeth park in April you told me join the down river walleye federation and I did not see you at last meeting I’m leaving you my number please give me a call have a few questions for you 1-248-462-8316 hope your doing well and hope to see you at next meeting

8 08 2015
Claytus Mcallister

My correct email address is claytusmcallister14@gmail.com 2484628316

Leave a Reply

