Weeds Still Suck

22 09 2015

Originally I had no plans to fish last night (9/21/15).  I was planning on going out on Thursday since I had the next day off from work.  Figured I would be able to stay out as long as I want and maybe experiment with some other lures.  What changed my mind was the wind forecast.  The forecast called for NE, E and SE winds all week.  That meant that by Thursday I would have needed a brush hog to find any clear water.  So I figured last night would be my best bet.  Unfortunately the weeds were still bad, not as bad as my previous trip but bad enough.  I only fished for about 90 minutes and managed one 18 inch walleye and one 19 inch Smallmouth (which really made a mess of my leaders).  Both fish came on the same blue and white pencil plug I have been using for the last month.

No pictures this time.  I figured everyone has seen enough pics of an 18 inch walleye and by now everyone should know what that pencil plug looks like.  Water temps was 68 degrees and the water is still extremely clear.  Weeds were all throughout the water column.  Mats on top and single strands below the surface.

Taking a break for awhile.  Got enough fish for my mom’s fish fry so I’m good for now. I’ll wait until the water cools down some more and we get a few days of west winds.  I’m hoping a few new fish will move in from Erie.  Not that I did that much damage to the local population but it would be nice to get some new fish in the river.

Actions

Information

2 responses

22 09 2015
Larry E.

Good to see you out there it was a beautiful night to fish. The weeds were a slight pain for sure, it had me mainly working the east side of the river. Anytime I headed near middle or west side I was clearing lines. I started about a half hour before you made it out and it was all smallmouth bass action, I played with 6 or so until sunset. I couldn’t buy a bite last night but did enjoy the boat ride (again) I haven’t had a walleye in my last 3 trips but 2 were morning outings with bright sunshine, thought for sure I was going to catch some walleye in the evening. Catch ya out there again, hopefully with better results.

23 09 2015
mfs686

Yeah better days are coming, just needs to cool down some more.

Leave a Reply

