Fanatic Status.

22 11 2015

Fanatic

It’s official, I have hit fanatic status.

Yesterday, while most of Michigan was under a winter weather advisory, I was out Steelhead fishing.  It was only cold at first but after an hour of standing waist deep in 40 degree water it started to snow.  Not much at first but eventually it started to come down just like in the picture.

Did I quit? Nope.

I kept at it for the next hour even though I didn’t catch anything.  I had one hit, no hook up, no fish.  The only other excitement was a whitetail doe sneaking up behind me and snorting.  I guess she felt I shouldn’t have been out either.  She kept looking at me like “What the hell is that standing in the water?”  Eventually she just gave up and walked away and left me to my fishing.  I didn’t fish much longer after that.  Even I figured it was pretty futile after 2 hours.  I had stuff to do and I needed to get out of the water and get the circulation going in my legs again.  I did learn one thing today though.  Just like in walleye fishing, wool gloves and steelhead don’t mix.  At least it doesn’t when swinging flies.  The line just slides between my wool covered finger and the cork handle whenever I would make my cast.  That leads to a mess.  I think one of those handlining doll slippers might cure that.

Wonder if I have any of those things lying around?

Actions

Information

3 responses

23 11 2015
SwittersB

Amen!!!

23 11 2015
Larry E.

Not the doll slipper lol. Mark you got the steelhead fever for sure. You put the mailman and their slogan to shame, not only rain ,shine sleet or snow, you and standing in ice cold water to boot.

23 11 2015
mfs686

I know, I need help! I need to find someone just as infected to take a picture of me out in the next snowstorm.

Leave a Reply

