Tying Binge

3 04 2016

Around the beginning of the year I made a stop into Schultz’s Outfitters to pick up some more tying materials.  I had a few specific things I thought I needed and, as usual, I picked up some things I thought would be neat to tie with.  Of course, when I got home, I put the items in their proper bins only to find out I already had them.  It was at that point I decided to go on a tying binge and use up all the materials I could before I bought anymore.  I figured this wouldn’t be too daunting of a task.  If I ran out of black rabbit strips, I would just switch over to olive.  Pink dubbing gone, use chartreuse.  So, after I burned through 6 cards of Flashabou, 13 packs of dubbing, 7 packs of zonker strips, several bags of dyed guinea hen feathers, all my dyed mallard flanks, salmon/steelhead hooks, 25mm shanks and a couple of spools of thread, I now have enough steelhead flies to last me until 2020.  Of course, that won’t stop me.  So without further adieu, I give you the results of my tying binge.

Egg Sucking Leeches

Feenstra Grapefruit Leech.

Feenstra Grapefruit Leech.

A butt load of egg sucking leeches.  My bread and butter flies.

A butt load of egg sucking leeches. My bread and butter flies.

Hoh Bo Spey, or a close facsimile there of.

Hoh Bo Spey, or a close facsimile there of.

Spey's, Intruder Style Flies and a few Senyo A.I.'s

Spey’s, Intruder Style Flies and a few Senyo A.I.’s

Senyo AI

Sculpins

Sculpins

My sculpin, Goby, Darter, Fry box.

My sculpin, Goby, Darter, Fry box.

My river box

My river box

 

 

Actions

Information

4 responses

7 04 2016
Dave

Man, you need to start walleye fishing.

13 04 2016
mfs686

You’re not kidding. Gonna feel weird pulling wire after not being out since October.

13 04 2016
Chris Anema

Looks like you good to go! Time to buy more material now ha!
Great looking flies!

13 04 2016
mfs686

Thanks……Just need the water level to lower a bit and I’ll give them a swing.

Leave a Reply

