Wash, Rinse, Repeat.

8 05 2016

Went out last Friday evening (5/6) for another crack at the walleye before those other fish show up in force.  Weather wise it was completely different from two days ago.  Clear skies and warmer temps were the norm this evening.  Because of that I didn’t even leave the house until well after 8.  There were a few more boats out tonight compared to Wednesday as well.  Word must have got out that the fish were snapping.  Either that or the fact that this was going to be the nicest night weather wise we have had in over 2 weeks.  I headed to my usual area and started fishing around 8:45 pm.  My girlfriend Susan came along this evening to enjoy the nice weather and keep me company.  She also kept track of what time I caught each fish. I kept her busy almost immediately because I caught my first one in 5 minutes and by 10:02 pm number 5 was in the boat and we were headed home.

8:50

8:52

9:02

9:32

10:02

There was one undersized fish thrown in there between numbers 4 and 5 and a few of those other fish as well.  I know there are millions of them sitting in Lake Erie just waiting for the temperature to hit that magic number.  They probably started moving in this weekend.  I just hope they get it over with early this year.

All in all it was a near perfect evening.  Water is still very clear and the surface temp was around 51 degrees.  There was a lot of debris in the water tonight, like someone opened a sewer line farther upstream.  One fish came on Riley Special spoon and the rest came on the same two Rapala’s from Wednesday night.  Talked to a few other fishermen and it seemed like everyone was catching fish, some more than others.  I was glad I could get out these last couple of nights.  High winds will be keeping me on shore for the weekend.  Maybe one more night next week before the other fish hit their peak.

We shall see.

IMG_5159 IMG_5160 FullSizeRender IMG_5158

 

Actions

Information

2 responses

8 05 2016
Dave

Fellow knuckle dragger here, couldnt get on em early but found em below where you saw me. Picked up my 5 or 6 (double) at the end in about 30 minutes. Thanks for the tip out there.

9 05 2016
mfs686

No problem. Anything for me is going to be late at night now that the other fish have arrived.

Leave a Reply

