Dave’s turn, 06/27/17

28 06 2017

Since the fishing has been so good as of late I decided to give Dave a crack at them as well.  I have known Dave for a while but this was going to be the first time we have pulled wire together.  Usually it is he and Larry that are out together in Dave’s boat so sitting on the port side was going to take some adjustment for him.  We started out at 9:30 pm and literally dropped lines right on top of the fish.  We landed 9 in the first hour along with a few blankity blanks and a couple of throwbacks.  Actually, I was getting the blankity blanks and throwbacks, Dave was the one catching nothing but legal walleye.  We figured we would be done soon but it took us another hour to catch that last fish.  During that hour I caught more throwbacks and a few more blankity blanks.  They got over their shyness with Dave and eventually he caught one as well along with a small sheepshead.  The walleye were there, they just started hitting very lightly and we kept losing fish on the initial hit.  We would feel them grab it and then a second or two later they would be gone.  Words cannot describe how frustrating this is when you are trying to get that last one to fill a limit.  Around 11:30 I had another one on and fortunately he grabbed it hard and hooked himself well enough to where I could flip him in.  After that we pulled lines and headed to the dock.

Conditions were damn near perfect.  A light west breeze, clear water, very few bugs (even less after I swallowed one) and some floating weeds.  About the only bad thing about last night was that I busted the lips on 2 Rapalas.  It was my own fault too.  I could feel them get hung up and instead of throwing my lines back I pulled through.  SNAP!  I know better than that.  No one else out at first but eventually another boat did show up that hugged the Grosse Isle shoreline at first and then headed south.  Another boat came right up to us just as we were leaving.  For some reason he felt the need to pass within 10 feet of me on his way down.  My fish all came on #9 Rapalas and the majority of Dave’s came on a J-9 Original Rapala.  This year is shaping up to be the best of my life.  That’s 14 trips now and 13 limits.

Life is Good!

Time to clean.

 

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

