04/23/14 Walleye

24 04 2014

While I was at the last DWF meeting last Monday I was talking to Larry about going out Wednesday night. He asked if I was going to have an open seat. I told him I wasn’t sure but that I would get back with him. The next morning I sent him a quick message to be at my house at 6:30 pm and he agreed.

Wednesday night we arrived at the launch around 7:00 pm and by 7:15 pm we were lines down south of the cat. Surface temp was around 47 degrees and the water was very clear. I had a feeling that things were going to be slow at first and I was right. For the next hour and a half we got nothing, nadda, zip, squat, diddly. Around 9:00 pm the sun was long gone and the fish finally showed up. For the next 45 minutes it was game on and we managed to put 8 in the cooler. I figured we would have no problem getting the last two but for the next half hour we were back to nothing, nadda, zip, squat, diddly. No big deal, we had 8 nice fish all between 19 and 25 inches long. Larry’s first fish was over 23 inches long and I told him he had to throw it back because it was screwing up my average. He gave me that “Yeah Right” look and tossed him in the cooler. My next fish was the 25 incher and everything afterwards was in the 20+ inch range. At quarter after 10 we pulled lines and headed in. We both had to work in the morning and it was going to be a late night after we were done cleaning fish and putting the boat away.

Other than that 45 minute spurt it was a pretty uneventful night. No boat problems, no swimming deer, no lost equipment or hang ups and even the weather was pretty calm. No wind and it was actually quite pleasant out. If it had been a Friday night we would have stayed out longer.

Most of my fish came on a #11 Bleeding Chartreuse Rapala. I really don’t know what Larry was catching his fish on, I wasn’t paying attention. I was busy keeping the boat in the strike zone and avoiding other boats and catching my own fish.  Only thing of interest was that all the big males were spawned out.

That makes 3 trips for me and 3 limits. The Tigers Bullpen and Red Wings Power Play probably wishes they were this consistent.

19 to 25 inches.

19 to 25 inches.

 

 


Actions

Information

5 responses

24 04 2014
richardmax22

Wow, nice catch!

24 04 2014
mfs686

Thanks, gotta love nights like that.

24 04 2014
steve schoonover

nice job boys

24 04 2014
Larry E.

Had a great time fishing with you. That short bite window that opened for us kept the fish coming pretty steady, thought we had a good chance in filling both limits. I didn’t want to out fish the capt so I would be invited back some day, I must of dragged a few fish around for hours to make sure I didn’t ……that’s my story and I’m sticking to it. LOL Thanks for the invite!

24 04 2014
mfs686

Yeah Whatever….lol You buying that Dave? Oh, and I didn’t need to break out the First Aid kit either.

Leave a comment